Suicide Trend and Nowcasting of Suicide in Hong Kong

Loading...

Loading...

We matched all suicide cases reported by media in 2019 with confirmed suicide cases recorded in the Coroner’s Court in the same year. According to gender, age, nature of the location, and suicide method of the cases, machine learning techniques were used to estimate the probability and weight of each case being reported in 2020 and 2021. By doing so, an estimation of the total number of suicide cases per day could be obtained.

The number of suicide cases could be extremely low at times; to minimise its effect on estimation, the average of past 7 days’ estimates is used to work out the estimate of the present day. The blue line shown in the figure indicates the suicide trend in Hong Kong and the daily estimate of suicide cases (i.e. the “Suicide Risk Index” as an early warning for suicide prevention).

On the other hand, the 365 days average estimate line and the three levels of upper control limit lines (adding 1, 2, and 3 standard deviations of the estimates to the average) are plotted to indicate the risk level. When the blue line sits above the black / red / yellow / green line, it represents, respectively, a Crisis / Very High / High / Moderate level of suicide risk in the past 7 days; and a low risk when the blue line lies below the green one.

香港近期自殺趨勢及風險指數

Loading...

Loading...

我們將2019年所有自殺新聞報道,與死因庭同年所確定的自殺個案進行配對;根據自殺身亡者的性別、年齡、地點、性質及方法,運用機器學習技術,估算2020和2021年度每宗個案被報道的概率和權重,從而得出當下自殺個案的估值。

為了減低有時個案數量過少對估算的影響,我們運用本港過往7天自殺估值的平均數,來計算出當下的自殺估值。 圖中藍色線正顯示本港自殺趨勢,以及每天的「自殺風險指數」(自殺早期預警)。

另外,我們利用本港過往365天的自殺個案平均估值,加上1、2和3個標準差數值,計算出四個管制上限級別(分別為圖中的黑、紅、黃和綠色線)。 當7天移動平均估值到達管制上限時,將分別代表過往7天的自殺風險屬「極高」、「甚高」、「高」和「中」風險,而低於綠色線則為「低」風險。